Exploring Model Management in RapidMiner

Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn
edited November 2018 in Knowledge Base

By: Fabian Temme, PhD

Editor's Note: Fabian shares some of his experiences with creating Model Management Applications in RapidMiner Server as part of his daily Data Science work.

I recently reached a point in my daily work for the PRESED project (Predictive Sensor Data mining for Product Quality Improvement, www.presed.eu) within the funded R&D Research Team at RapidMiner where I needed to put something in production. This probably sounds familiar for many data scientists after they found their insight.

It all started like the usual way. I did some complex preprocessing where I transformed my data into a nice table. Once I had hundreds to thousands of examples with their attributes and assigned labels I started training models, validating their performances, with the intent to bring them into production.

Here's the problem. Which model do I choose to put into production?

RapidMiner offers a great variety of different models, and also the possibility to combine them (for example by grouping, stacking or boosting). But I still had to answer the question, which one? 

I decided to test several models and needed an easy way to visualize and test the different models. I wanted to do a "model bake-off" and here's how I did it.

For this example we'll use the Sonar data sample provided in RapidMiner and start with a typical standard classification process: 

Classification Process.png