Options

Using RapidMiner for building earth science models from satellite data

bbonnlanderbbonnlander Member Posts: 1 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

Hello RapidMiner developers and users,

My name is Brian Bonnlander, and I'm a research scientist with experience building earth science and ecological forecasting models from satellite data.  I'm very interested in finding or helping develop a freely available data mining toolkit that can be used by earth scientists to explore and build forecasting models from large sets of gridded data, including satellite and ground observation data.  Currently, much of the work in ecological forecasting is done through partnerships between earth scientists, who have the domain knowledge for ecological forecasting, and computer scientists (like myself), who write the code for data preprocessing and forecasting.  The problem is that much of the code is built using proprietary tools such as Matlab, and these solutions are hard for earth scientists to understand, extend, and share with other scientists, partly because they are not coders, and partly because the supporting languages are not freely available. 

It is my belief that research in earth science would be greatly enhanced if earth scientists could explore data themselves with an easy-to-use set of tools, and share their code and results for other scientists to build upon.  There are grant opportunities within the U.S. for developing such tools, and I am interested in writing a grant proposal for extending a toolkit such as RapidMiner for processing large gridded datasets.