Text filtering

caknoblacaknobla Member Posts: 1 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

Dear All,

I am new to RapidMiner and have an issue where I do not really know how to start it:

I have the following data:
    - One file (pdf, txt or html) with a collection of 1000 different news articles.
    - A list with about 30 keywords.
I want to extract all those articles, that match at least with one of the keywords.

My questions are:
1. What do I have to do such that RapidMiner can distinguish where an article starts and ends? When I import my news articles with the operator „Read Data“ it seems to me that the whole data is considered as „one article“.

2. What kind of process do I need to set up to extract only those articles that contain one of the key words. Specifically, which operator would work best? I tried „Filter Documents (by content)“ but I don’t understand where I should integrate my keywords.

Thank you so much!

Best,
Carl

Answers

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

Hi Carl,

Did you get a chance to read through this part of the Community: http://community.rapidminer.com/t5/Text-Analytics-in-RapidMiner/tkb-p/Text

If all your documents are in one file and you want to seperate them, you will need to use the Cut Document operator to slice them into seperate entities. 

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

Hi Carl,

Did you get a chance to read through this part of the Community: http://community.rapidminer.com/t5/Text-Analytics-in-RapidMiner/tkb-p/Text

If all your documents are in one file and you want to seperate them, you will need to use the Cut Document operator to slice them into seperate entities. 

• Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn