Twitter sub-topic cluster calculation

dominik_grossaldominik_grossal Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi! I am trying to perform a cluster analysis on a dataset of some 35.000 tweets in order to try and find clusters talking about similar sub-topics. I am not entirely sure how to approach this. So far I have tried using a DBSCAN clustering but it has essentially just returned with one giant cluster. Do I need to use another clustering method or somehow pre-define a number of clusters using the most common words? This is planned as an extension to my thesis and I am new to clustering and RapidMiner so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Answers

• Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn

K-means clustering will allow you to specify the number of clusters (k) in advance, so depending on what you would like to see you could try that.  Or X-means will test a wide range of values of k and then return the value that it believes is "best" (see the operator documentation for details).  I would start with those two and see what you get.

Going down the road of labeling some examples based on keywords/concepts can be fruitful but takes you out of unsupervised clustering into more of the semi-supervised or fully supervised learning, which does give you many other options in terms of predictive models but is fundamentally a different type of problem.

Brian T.
    Lindon Ventures 
    Data Science Consulting from Certified RapidMiner Experts
  • dominik_grossaldominik_grossal Member Posts: 2 Contributor I

Thank you very much!