Multiple non linear Regression in Rapid miner

binaybinay Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
I am a newbie in rapid miner. I am using Rapid miner as a part of my data mining tool for my graduation thesis.

I have a number of independent variables and one dependent variable which is numerical. I have tried using Linear regression and polynomial regression. However, I also want to try multiple non-linear regression on my data, if it predicts more accurately than linear regressions.

By multiple non-linear regression, I mean that, some independent variables are linear, and some are non-linear(as logarithmic, or exponential or even polynomial). And the predictive value is the combination of all of those.

Y = a . C1 + b.e^C2 + c.log C3 + ...

Here, a, b, c are independent variables and C1, C2, C3 are coefficients.

Could anybody explain me how can I add such operators to achieve my goal?

Thanks, in advance. I would love to clarify my problem, if it is not clear to you.
Tagged:

Answers

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist
    My first try would be a neural net?

~Martin
    - Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • binaybinay Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
    Thanks Martin for the answer.

But Neural net is something which is hidden to the user and also requires large number of inputs. That is why I am considering regressions, in which the regression formula is visible and clear to the user. And the user can easily relate how the dependent variables are a function of linear, exponential, logarithmic or polynomial function of independent variables.

So, are there any operators in Rapidminer to get such kind of formulas for regressions? Or if there is any way to deal with such problem?

I might use neural networks and other techniques as well to validate my predictions though.