Using RapidMiner in Industry 4 Setting?

basisbasis Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help

Hello All,

New to Forum and I wonder why I didn't use this before as I have been using RapidMiner for educational purposes since 2011. 

Anyways, I am in need of use cases if RapidMiner for big data/ Industry 4.0 setting .Smart factories and such. I know there is a sample process describing predictive maintenance but I wonder whther it is possible to analyze stream data with RapidMiner (for pattern recognition, fault diagnosis, pattern recognition etc.) and if so what is the process like? Also if sample data sets exists that would be great for test. 

Best,

B

Answers

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder

Hi,

We have actually quite a lot of customer engagements in the manufacturing industry - in fact, this is one of the three largest industries we serve.  You can find a few case studies here: https://rapidminer.com/resources/?type=case-studies

It typically comes down to scenarios like the following:

• Predictive maintenance (for avoiding unplanned outages)
    • Yield optimization (for improving throughput / acceptable output at same costs)
    • Quality assurance (for avoiding low-quality production settings)
    • Root cause analysis (for finding the reasons for problems)
    • Recipe optimization (for avoiding wet lab testing of new products)
    • among many others

Sensor data is typically involved but that does not necessarily require stream handling in the modeling phase (only in application).  In 99% of all use cases we see, the models are trained offline on batches of data and then the model is applied on data streams in an optimized architecture. RapidMiner perfectly supports this scenario.