"Choosing a schema in Oracle via DatabaseExampleSource"

Legacy UserLegacy User Member Posts: 0 Newbie
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi,

first of all, i am a totally rookie regarding rapid miner but it seems to be a very good dm software...
Anyway, for my work it is absolutely necessary to connect to oracle databases. In my specific exampel, the connection to database works (testing via wizard), but the tables are missing. I assume  that the defalut connection uese the db schema of the user.So, how can i change to another database schema?
Do you have any advices

Thanks in advance

Thomas
Tagged:

Answers

• homburghomburg Moderator, Employee, Member Posts: 114 RM Data Scientist
    Hi Thomas.

The Oracle database usually holds a schema for every user, defining that users privileges and view of the underlying data structure. In order to receive information from a certain table it should be sufficient to select an appropriate user or alter the users database schema in a way, that it grants acces to the table (respectively constructs it). This can be done i.e. by using the Portal Navigator software from Oracle.

Best regards,
    Helge Homburg
  • Legacy UserLegacy User Member Posts: 0 Newbie
    Hello Helge,

thanks for your quick response. Of course, the db provides for every user an own schema. But in our company the policy for our datawarehouse database is to give every person his own (read-only) user (plus empty schema) whereas the tables are hold in schemas of artifical users (like ETL-Job user).  So selecting an apprpriate user is no choice.
    Altering the users database schema sounds like an option which won't work as well from the philosophy of  (our) company. Isn't there any solution to change to another schema like for office/odbc or straight oracle/sql? This way would really help for acceptance at our company.

Cheers
    Thomas
  • keithkeith Member Posts: 157 Maven
    I'm a little unclear on what you're asking, but let me offer a few ideas: