Dynamically determine number of clusters k-means

namachoco99namachoco99 Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

I have a CSV file containing approximately a million records and 3 features that will be used to determine which cluster each record will belong. I want to have these records clustered using k-Means algorithm (and using the Euclidean Distance) and I'll use the Davies Bouldin Index (DBI) to find the optimal number of clusters.

Is there any way for me to be able to automate finding the optimal number of clusters by repeating/looping through the process with the k nmber of clusters incrementing on each iteration? I'm new to RapidMiner so I'm not yet sure on how to implement this by implementing an XML code.

Thanks for any help and suggestion that will be given!

Answers

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist

Hello,

there are two things you can do.

1. Use the X-Means operator. It runs k-means but uses internally heuristics (i think based on DB?) to determine k

2. Put a loop around and run the algorithm with several k. You can than pick the best k. I've done this in a blog post on hearthstone a year ago: https://rapidminer.com/creative-use-hearthstone-cluster-analysis/ this also includes some python scripts for charting, which you might not need.

Best,

Martin

- Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn

I have had good results using the X-Means operator.  It generally finds a sensible value of k in my experience.

Brian T.
    Lindon Ventures 
    Data Science Consulting from Certified RapidMiner Experts
  • namachoco99namachoco99 Member Posts: 3 Contributor I

This one looks promising! Thanks for the suggestion!

I have two questions though: