From a newbie - Neural Net prediction

LeoLeo Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

Hi all,

As stated in the subject, i'm just starting to learn how to use RapidMiner and I wish to predict the amount of traffic (number of cars) passing a point at certain times of the day (e.g. every 15 mins), having the history (or data) for the past one year.

I have tried using the Neural Net operator in rapidminer with "vehicle_count" as the label (or target) but the predicted "count" when i apply the model is way off the mark.

What am i missing? Please, any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Leo

Answers

• awchisholmawchisholm RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 458 Unicorn

If the only data you have is a time series of vehicle counts with a timestamp, then you would need to window the data so that a given vehicle count at a moment in time is accompanied by regular attributes corresponding to vehicle counts in the past. The model would then try to predict the vehicle count now based on the previous vehicle counts. The Windowing operator is the one to use for this.

Typically, you will probably also want to add other features to the data set. Examples would include the hour of the day, the day of the week and so on. You can do this by using the Generate Attributes operator on the timestamp to extract the required detail.

• LeoLeo Member Posts: 4 Contributor I

Hello awchisholm,

thanks for your quick response....I am not good with coding, so i use the rapidminer operators "from the box"...

I checked from the available operators and there's no "Windowing" operator, so could you help me understand this a bit more.

Also, my original data has several attributes including, the station_ID, Start_time (mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm format), Road_Lane, Traffic_direction and Traffic_count. See my attached file for the first 20 rows of the collected data.