How to plot a Learning Curve for a given model?

meloamaurymeloamaury Member Posts: 8 Contributor II
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi all,

I am new in RapidMiner Studio and I am trying to figure out how to plot a learning curve for a given model (basically plot the performance for training and testing as a function of the number of examples). In principle the learning curve would be a good indicator for the robusteness of the model (showing the bias versus variance problem).

I could not find in RapidMiner an operator or some video examples on this issue. I tried getting some information using the Log operator after my Cross Validation operator in order to plot afterwards, but without success.

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Best,

Amaury

Best Answers

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

The learning curve operator has been deprecated since about v7.3. Let me see if I can find a process that creates this for you.

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Solution Accepted

Hi,

I use the operator "Loop Parameters" for this and the inner "Sample" operator uses ratios between 5% and 100%.  Make sure that you evaluate the model with a cross-validation with a fixed local random seed since otherwise the influence of the data splits might be bigger than that of the additional examples...

Below is a process which you can use as a building block for this.

Hope this helps,

Ingo

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><process version="7.5.001">
    <context>
    <input/>
    <output/>
    <macros/>
    </context>
    <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="7.5.001" expanded="true" name="Process">
    <process expanded="true">