How to use all Processor Cores in the RapidMiner Models

Marcello_SandiMarcello_Sandi Member Posts: 15 Maven
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello staff,

I attract attention to the fact of the RapidMiner use all Processor Cores only with Meta.Parameter.ParameterIterationParallel and Meta.Parameter.EvolutionaryParameterOptimizationParallel.

Considering that I'm a beginner RapidMiner user so....

How could I use all quad cores of my processor over the models without these components? Is it possible?

Is there a jvm parameter that I can use to this problem?

I appreciate all kinds of help and comments!

Marcello Sandi

Answers

• wesselwessel Member Posts: 537 Maven
    Does the latest jvm already support quad cores?
  • Marcello_SandiMarcello_Sandi Member Posts: 15 Maven
    Well,

I found this http://documentation.skillsoft.com/ikb/23851.htm

this http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?forumID=31&;threadID=5347654

and this http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?forumID=7&;threadID=5255292

Of course, RapidMiner it's a complex system, and need to consider this factor.

I developed an application that use java multi-thread.....and run so fast. Just one example of a method is below. It's based on an consumer and producer system:

private Thread factoryThread(ThreadGroup tg, final Class<Consumidor> consumidorClass){
    Thread th =null;
    try {
    th = new Thread(tg, new Runnable() {
    Consumidor consumidor =  consumidorClass.newInstance();
    public void run() {
    consumidor.startup();
    Object obj = null;
    while ((obj = next()) != null && continua) {
    consumidor.execute(obj);

}
    consumidor.finish();
    }
    });
    } catch (InstantiationException e) {
    log.severe(e.getMessage());
    } catch (IllegalAccessException e) {
        } catch(Exception e){
        }
    return th;

}
  • landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi Marcello,