Mining for stock entry rules

Mark_KnechtMark_Knecht Member Posts: 10 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,
  Like many before me I'm a complete newbie to RapidMiner. This is my first post. Very impressive program and I'm very happy that it's available as Open Source. I'm running it on my Gentoo 64-bit machine and so far it seems to be working well.

Now, I've never used data mining before and am likely going to ask all the wrong things so please be kind. Don't worry too much. I can take a punch if I do something stupid.

OK, the initial task I've set for myself is to see if RapidMiner can extract a set of (for now) *ENTRY* rules that would help with day trading. I've prepared a data file with OHLCV data as well as a number of technical indicators that I currently use. The file is in csv format and seem to be able to successfully read it in using either the ExampleSource and CSVExampleSource operators.

Having done that I've managed to use a couple of operators as preprocessors, etc. For instance I can apply the Normalization operator and the model will play. However as soon as I add a RuleLearner I get a message in the message window that says "[Fatal] Process failed: Input example set does not have a label attribute". My first question is what, in general, do I need to do to get past this problem?

The larger question I have is in general how do I descibe the sort of criteria I would find acceptable in the rules RapidMiner mines? For instance, say I'm asking it to find a rule for going long a futures contract, I'd like a rule that did something like this:

1) Sometime in the next 30 bars there is a potential for a 2% gain. (Might be measured using high or possibly close.) Using 5 minute data that's about 2 1/2 hours which is good for a day trade.

2) Within whatever number of bars the required gain is developing there is no bar with more than a 1% drawdown or the entry would be considered a failure. (Must be measured using low.)