"SVM or Regression from data in database - how to??"

noah977noah977 Member Posts: 32 Maven
edited May 2019 in Help
I'm VERY new to RM.  Just installed it today :)

So far, I'm very impressed and a bit overwhemled by all the options it has.

I was hoping someone could help me design a model/workflow in the GUI for a simple problem.

-My data is stored in MYSQL  (I do understand how to use DatabaseExampleSource to access the raw data

-The input is 4 columns.  The first is a unique ID, the next 2 are various features (numbers), the last column is the result.
Fields: ID, first_measure, Second_measure, resulting_score
Example Data: 1, 13.5, 57.2, 6.12312313

I would like to use RM to create a "predictor" for this data.  Build a model based on many training examples.  One thought is regression, the other is an SVM.  I might also expand into a model with 50-60 features.  In that case, it would be nice to use some kind of genetic algorithm to learn the best features and correlation for the most accurate prediction.

As I wrote above, I can connect to my database and select the data.  I'm not sure what to do with the data once I have it.

Any advice?

Answers

• TobiasMalbrechtTobiasMalbrecht Moderator, Employee, Member Posts: 294 RM Product Management
    Hi Noah,
    noah977 wrote:

I'm VERY new to RM.  Just installed it today :)

So far, I'm very impressed and a bit overwhemled by all the options it has.
    Congratulations on coming upon RM and having made the first steps. Of course, RM is a bit overwhelming at the beginning, but once you have toyed around a while and understood the general principle on how to build a process, I am sure you will highly appreciate the vast possibilities for designing data mining processes RM offers.

But enough of advertising .. ;)
    noah977 wrote:

(I do understand how to use DatabaseExampleSource to access the raw data