"Sentiment Analysis - Choosing the right process"

KostasKostas Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Dear All,

I am very new in this wonderful world of data mining and I have to say I am more than impressed. I will try to sum up my problem in few words:

I have an excel file with two columns -> column A contains phrases (text) expressing opinion on a certain matter while column B has the character n or p in case the sentiment in the aforesaid phrases is negative or positive respectively. Obviously, p and n have been inserted manually by me.
(e.g.: The site is very helpful->p / All this is awful->n)

What I want to do is to use the above mentioned file as a training set of data and use it to learn a model to apply on other data (that is similar phrases expressing opinion on a specific matter). What I need to know is which operators to use to establish the required process.

Really counting on your support and thanking you in advance,
Kind Regards

Answers

• andkandk Member Posts: 21 Contributor II
  • KostasKostas Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
    Andk, thank you a lot for your response. The thing is that I had already checked out your post and allthough I can see the similarity, it still is quite different. I will try to explain better what I am aiming to. I have an excel sheet containing two columns, as follows:

A                                                    B
    EXPRESSION                                  POLARITY
    I am sick with this situation            n
    They are idiots and incapable        n
    this is extremely useful                  p
    it's getting worse everyday          n
    I believe it is a good step                p

Once again, p stands for positive and n for negative attitude reflected on the short phrases of column A.

My question is which operator should be used to create a model which would learn from an excel sheet as the above mentioned.