Text Clustering using rapidminer

singing_bird_1singing_bird_1 Member Posts: 16 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi all,

I am new in rapidminer

I have documents and I want to cluster them using k-medoids algorithm with cosine distance

I watched many videos, read tutorials and tried so much but it gives me wrong results (I compared the results with the results of another program)

so, please please write to me full steps to load, cluster and evaluate the documents.

Note: the documents are stored in a csv file such that, each document is put in only one cell and as total they are 396 rows or docs

help me please

Answers

• Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn

What do you mean by "it gives you wrong results"?  Can you be more specific?  Also if you can attach your RapidMiner process xml it would be easier to troubleshoot.

Thanks,

Brian T.
    Lindon Ventures 
    Data Science Consulting from Certified RapidMiner Experts
  • singing_bird_1singing_bird_1 Member Posts: 16 Contributor I

thank you so much for your help

I mean by wrong result is the distribution of the documents among the clusters

cluster0:22 items

cluster1:31 items

cluster2:343 items

attached my process 

thanks

• Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn

CLustering using k-means (or any of its variations) is not designed to divide the records evenly into clusters, but rather to minimize distance within clusters while it maximizes distance between clusters.  Thus, if your only reasoning for why the clustering didn't work is that you have a very lumpy distribution of documents across clusters, I don't think that is a valid inference.