Options

What is the maximum number of instances handled by Rapidminer?

emmaemma Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi all,

I have been using Rapidminer on Windows for 2-3 months now and have been very happy with the features and analysis tools it provides. Until now I have been using the feature selection operator on a data with 300 instances and ~300-400 varaiables and it gives me good results. So recently I increased my dataset to 1000 instances but since then i have been getting "Out of memory " errors and the process stops . I am at the last leg of my analysis so its kind of a dampener to get these errors now. :'(

I even tried increasing the memory for java using the Xmx option but no success , so if anyone has  ideas / suggestions to solve my problem please let me know .

Thanks,
Emma

Answers

• Options
    landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi Emma,
    I already worked with rapid miner with over 8000 attributes and 25000 examples without getting out of memory. I have to admit that it needed 8 GB of RAM, but it worked flawlessly under XP 64 using a x64 java. So I'm a little bit surprised by your problem.
    Did the memory monitor reflect the change sof the -Xmx parameter? Did you have more memory available before the execption?
    Do you use any other memory consuming operators within your process like svms, pca?

Greetings,
      Sebastian
  • Options
    IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hi,

there is no upper bound for the number of instances - at least not in principle, i.e. if the data storage was done appropriate. We often work with databases having hundres of millions of tupels without any problem (but of course this will not work for all processes - feature selection might be a problem here.)