"Balanced sampling for network training?"

chaosbringerchaosbringer Member Posts: 21 Contributor II
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi,
i have a very imbalanced sample set, e.g. 99% true and 1% false. Is it reasonable to select a balanced subset with a 50/50-distirbution for neural network trainining? the reason for this is, that i guess training on the original dataset may induce a bias on the true-samples.
Can you suggest my some literature that covers this topic especially for neural netowrks?

Thank you very much,
chaosbringer
Tagged:

Answers

• steffensteffen Member Posts: 347 Maven
    Hi chaosbringer

I recommend to ask the question on http://stats.stackexchange.com/

Although we try to ask general questions about data mining here, the amount of experts with time is quite low. Nevertheless it would be great if you post the link to the question here (if you going to ask there).

greetings,

steffen

• spitfire_chspitfire_ch Member Posts: 38 Maven
    I just stumbled over the answer to his question at said site:

http://stats.stackexchange.com/questions/6254/balanced-sampling-for-network-training

Dikran Marsupial:
    Yes, it is reasonable to select a balanced dataset, however if you do your model will probably over-predict the minority class in operation (or on the test set). This is easily overcome by using a threshold probability that is not 0.5. The best way to choose the new threshold is to optimise on a validation sample that has the same class frequencies as encountered in operation (or in the test set).

Rather than re-sample the data, a better thing to do would be to