Batch mode with JAR file

chris_mlchris_ml Member Posts: 17 Maven
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,

I'd like to use RapidMiner in batch mode without the GUI.
With the bash script "scripts/rapidminer CONTROL.xml" this works
fine. However, I would prefer to use the shipped JAR file
from the "lib" directory "rapidminer.jar". Starting it with
"java -jar lib/rapidminer.jar CONTROL.xml" ends up in the
invocation of the GUI without executing the provided xml
file.

Is there a way to start RapidMiner in batch mode with
the JAR file? Or can the JAR file be adjusted to do so?

Greetings,
Chris

Answers

• steffensteffen Member Posts: 347 Maven
    Hello

Assuming that you are a linux guy...
    I am no bash expert, but did you take a look at the file "rapidminer"

The interesting part is this one:

BUILD="${RAPIDMINER_HOME}/build"
    RAPIDMINER_JAR="${RAPIDMINER_HOME}/lib/rapidminer.jar"
    RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH=""

if [ -d "${BUILD}" ] ; then
        RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH=${BUILD}
    elif [ -f "${RAPIDMINER_JAR}" ] ; then
        RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH=${RAPIDMINER_JAR}
    else
        echo "Neither ${BUILD} nor ${RAPIDMINER_JAR} was found."
        echo "Try 'ant build' or 'ant dist' first or check the value of RAPIDMINER_HOME!"
        exit 1
    fi
    To avoid using the build - directory (I do not know why you want to do this...) replace the if-condition with this assignment:

RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH=${RAPIDMINER_JAR}
    [glow=lightgreen,2,300]The final java command is at the bottom of the script[/glow] (as an inspiration for further changes).

On windows (rapidminer.bat), these are the interesting lines:

if exist "%RAPIDMINER_JAR%" set RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH=%RAPIDMINER_JAR%
    if exist "%BUILD%" set RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH=%BUILD%
    if "%RAPIDMINER_CLASSPATH%"=="" goto error1

Please note that the command you have posted does not include the libraries in the /bin - directory. This can cause some serious trouble...