Can't import CSV data on Mac

FrydekFrydek Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi
I'm new here. I'm just getting started with RapidMiner.
I'm trying to import a csv file and clicking import csv doesn't do anything.
Am I missing something? I've followed tutorials and in them a wizard appears, which doesn't happen in my case.
The only three options that work are import access, database and binary.

Answers

• FrydekFrydek Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
    Well, I'm on 10.6.8 thus Java 6... Unresolvable as far as I know...
  • Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

I'm afraid if you do not have access to Java 7, you will either need to use RM 5.3.008, or update your OS to Mountain Lion (OS X 10.8) for the imports to work correctly.

Regards,
    Marco
  • ldamianildamiani Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
    Im having the same problem on a mountain lion with Java 7 (v25)
  • ReshmaReshma Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
    I'm on Mountain Lion and using RM 5.3.013. I have Java 7.

I opened RM from inside the scripts folder by double clicking RapidMinerGUI.

When the tool started the first time, I was not prompted for creating a new repository. I started a New Process and then created a new repository. If I try to import a .csv, I get nothing and there's not error messages either.

Can someone help?!
  • Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

what does it say when you enter the following in your terminal?

java -version
    Regards,
    Marco
    Hi March

java version "1.6.0_43"
    Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_43-b01-447-11M4203)
    Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.14-b01-447, mixed mode)

That's what  I see.

Reshma
    Hi,

so your Mac is not using Java 7 as the default JVM. Can you try the following: