Data partitioning, subsequent plotting

trhaynestrhaynes Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
I am new to RM, but am very excited by its possibilities!  I've read through lots of forum messages, documentation, and videos, but cannot seem to figure out how to do a something that seems fairly simple.  Any help would be wonderful!

Here is a an example of my data
id1id2periodvalue
1a2.11
2a3.23
3a4.12
4b3.14
5b4.11
6b5.19
7b6.18
I would like RM to partition the data according to the value in id2.  In this simple example, it would split this data into two tables based on the values of 'a' and 'b' in id2:
id1id2periodvalue
1a2.11
2a3.23
3a4.12
id1id2periodvalue
4b3.14
5b4.11
6b5.19
7b6.18
Then I'd like to generate plots for these 2 tables (possibly separate plots, or just overlaid on the same plot) which graphs value on the Y-axis and period on the X-axis.

The original data will actually be partitioned into about 100 tables as a result, with varying numbers of records per table.  Tables with more periods will have more records, for example.

I have surmounted getting RM to read the data from SQL 2008R2, but can't seem to figure out how to get it to split the data up into separate example sets.

Thanks for any help!!

Answers

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hello,

I would like RM to partition the data according to the value in id2.  In this simple example, it would split this data into two tables based on the values of 'a' and 'b' in id2:
    well, as almost always there are multiple ways how you can achieve this within RapidMiner. Which is the best one often depends on what you are doing afterwards.

Option 1: Sequence of "Filter Examples"