[MERGED] Log Operator - CPU Time, CPU Execution Time, Time, Execution Time

bugrasitemkarbugrasitemkar Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
I am new to Rapidminer and already read posts about measuring modeling time. Only information I would be able to find is
cpu execution time and cpu time are measured in nanoseconds (this post is the one with the most information http://rapid-i.com/rapidforum/index.php/topic,5688.0.html)

I would like to measure modeling time for a decision tree classifier  Id3,

Set up log operator to log Id3 operator, and choose fields as cpu execution time, cpu time, execution time, time and apply count.

Posting an example result of log operator for id3 training with grid parameter optimization (that is where 2200 applications of models came from)

cpu execution time  |  cpu time    |    execution time  |  time  |  apply count
15625000                |  15625000 |    18                    |  19    |  2200

and results overview time is 1:09

My questions are:

+  Does cpu-execution time and cpu time measures only a single application of model (presumably last application) ? Because I get nearly same results for cpu execution time and cpu time when I run same model only for once.

+ cpu execution time and cpu time parts are sometimes equal and sometimes not, what may cause this change ? What is the difference between cpu execution time and cpu time ?

+ what is execution time and time stands for ? what is their units ?

Finally, is there any suggestion to measure modeling time (without I/o if possible) ? What is the correct practice of this task ?

Thanks for any help you will be able to provide.

Answers

• Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

I will try to answer your questions.

1) Yes, only the last iteration is taken there. You would need to add a log operator inside the Parameter Optimization to collect times for all applications.