NullPointerException

DarmeDarme Member Posts: 10 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,

I am a newbie to RapidMiner. I am trying to use Expectation Maximization to cluster some data. I have a around 500 000 of data rows in .csv file. I am using the process "Read CSV" -> Normalise -> Replace Missing Vlaues -> Clustering
However i always get a nullpointer exception at the clustering time  :(
I am doing something wrong here?

Thanks in advance
Darme

Answers

• MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    Do you get an error dialog which allows to submit a bug report? If so, please use the corresponding button.
    If there is no such dialog, please post your process setup and give us a detailed description of your data (number and types of attributes, and any particularities).

Best regards,
    Marius
  • DarmeDarme Member Posts: 10 Contributor II
    Hi Marius,

Thank you for your prompt reply. Following is the error massage i get.

The setup does not seem to contain any obvious errors, but you should check the log massages or activate the debug mode in the settings dialog in order to get more information about this problem

The log contains the following

subprocess 'Main Process'
                +- Read CSV[1] (Read CSV)
                +- Normalize[1] (Normalize)
                +- Replace Missing Values[1] (Replace Missing Values)
          ==>  +- Clustering[1] (Expectation Maximization Clustering)
    Apr 23, 2013 4:49:13 PM SEVERE: java.lang.NullPointerException

the data has 11 attributes which are of types text, number and date. In the normalise process i have set value type to numeric
    In the clustering i have set randomly assigned examples
    In the  Replace Missing Values i have set attribute filter type to all and default to average

do you need any more information?  Please let me know

Thanks again
    Darme
    Hi,