What has been the most important things in news for the past one year? data mining possible?

vijay_dpgcvijay_dpgc Member Posts: 5 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

So the idea is something like this. Feed the software with content for one year from newspapers, new websites and what not. The software should eliminate common English words and come up with a list of words which have been trending. Important things which are specified should be looked into by the software.

Is it possible to connected the news feed directly from a newspaper website like The Hindu, instead of copy pasting it daily?

How to do this?

I am looking to find out things like important persons in news, new technology, international organisations and global happenings etc.

PS: This is an amateurish question as I am new to this software.

Answers

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder

Hi,

Well this is a bigger project and nobody here will probably be able to describe the complete solution in a single post :-)

But here are some hints to get you started:

For all types of text analysis (including sentiment analysis and other), you will need an extension for RapidMiner:

You can download these extensions for free from our Marketplace.  You can find it in the menu “Extensions” – “Marketplace” and type “Text”, "Aylien", or "Rosette" in the search box. Or you can use the links above.  There are also many more extensions on our Marketplace so make sure that you check them out…

There is a community member who created a nice set of tutorials for text analysis using the Text Minign extension with RapidMiner: http://vancouverdata.blogspot.com/2010/11/text-analytics-with-rapidminer-loading.html

And our friends at Aylien have a great series of blog posts explaining the Aylien extension: http://blog.aylien.com/