🦉🦉   WOOT WOOT!   RAPIDMINER WISDOM 2020 EARLY BIRD REGISTRATION ENDS FRIDAY DEC 13!   REGISTER NOW!   🦉🦉

"stream database operator - not working - JTDS - MS SQL Server 2008"

bcourtneybcourtney Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
edited May 23 in Help
Hello,

I get error messages about "incorrect syntax near the keyword AS"

1) I'm using the JTDS driver to SQL Server
2) The table has a primary key and is indexed
3) When I specify the label, id and weight columns this does't seem to be recognized.
Tagged:

Answers

  • steffensteffen Member Posts: 347  Guru
    Hey bcourtney

    It seems that the syntax of your sql - statement is broken. Did you try it (the statement) out on a console/gui which is directly linked with your database (like e.g. SQuirrel SQL) ?

    greetings,

    steffen
  • bcourtneybcourtney Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
    The SQL is valid.
  • steffensteffen Member Posts: 347  Guru
    Seems like you are a minimalist ... I'll copy your style for this thread

    We do not have enough information for "remote debugging". Please post...
    - the process xml
    - the sql statement
    - the log output after running the process

  • bcourtneybcourtney Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
    1) I am not using any operators that perform database writes at all.
    2) The label column is also specified but later in the operation chain, operators can't "see" it.

    Feb 23, 2011 3:28:27 PM CONFIG: Connecting to jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost:xxxxx/Training;instance=SQLSERVER2008R2 as .
    Feb 23, 2011 3:28:28 PM SEVERE: Process failed: operator cannot be executed (The 'set' operation (writing data) is not supported for this type of underlying example tables, e.g. it is not supported for a data table backed up by a database. Please transform into a memory based data table first, for example with the batch processing operator, or materialize the data table in memory.). Check the log messages...
    Feb 23, 2011 3:28:28 PM SEVERE: Here:          Root[1] (Process)
  • haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849  Guru
    Are we meant to guess the log message? Get a grip!
  • bcourtneybcourtney Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
    That was the end of the log. There is no need to be so aggressive.
  • haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849  Guru
    There is no need to be so aggressive.
    :-*
  • bcourtneybcourtney Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
    I think I figured out the problem.

    I used Rapidminer 4.6 some time ago. In that interface there was a "wizard" which let you specify what columns were, datatypes and roles.
    That wizard is gone now. Now you can only specify the 3 basic roles when using a stream database operator, and I cannot connect a
    role to the output of the database stream. It thinks I want to "write" data, when in fact I want to designate the roles inside rapidminer, not
    be forced to "carefully craft" my input table. I think this is very limiting, mostly because this is a read only operation.

    The stream database operator should have a "read-only" checkbox, so that role assignment and field designations can be made inside
    Rapidminer I think.

    Thanks
  • bcourtneybcourtney Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
    Still having a problem. I can read all my data in. When I highlight over the output from the Stream Database operator it shows the column count and Meta data infomation including a "label" column which I designated in the Stream Database Operator, however the learning methods receiving the example set input complain that a label has not been specified. additionally I cannot use set role because it thinks I might want to write to the database.

    I'm stuck, any help appreciated.
  • landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,529   Unicorn
    Hi,
    in contrast to the "Set" operator, the "set role" operator won't write to any database. What happens if you use it?

    Greetings,
    Sebastian
Sign In or Register to comment.