Options

IT Issue Trend Analysis With RapidMiner?

passmaster16passmaster16 Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,

I am a manager of an internal IT help desk. We're wanting to do some trend analysis on the trouble calls that we receive so that we can perform root cause analysis to eliminate the root problems from our environment.  I have a single column excel file that I exported our work order database which contains the work order descriptions.  I was hoping that I could use RapidMiner to to analyze the data to find patterns.  Basically I need to compare the records to themselves to see if any trends exist.  Unforutnately, I'm dealing with unstructured data that can differ depending on who entered the work order in the first place.  Below (in blue) is an example of the type of data that is in the excel spreadsheet.  Each row represents a separate work order that was submitted.  Could RapidMiner be useful in this application?  If so, could somebody point me in a direction where I could get started?  I've already watched some of the video tutorials on the Vancouver Data blog and I've even made a few quick processes in RapidMiner but I'm not exactly sure which operations I need to manipulate my data in a fashion that will be useful to me.  I'd greatly appreciate any insight you would be able to offer!  Thanks in advance!

User accidentally deleted a file in Word that he had saved locally.
User called and Word is still crashing on him.
User called as she said that she though she had moved an important Word file from her C: to her N: but that she now cannot find the file on either drive.
User called back and wanted to know how to convert a document to a pdf file again.
User called can't use macros in word 2007 disabled
User called wants to convert a word file to a PDF.
User called with an issue in Word 2007.  His text was showing up in another language.