Options

RapidMiner: Handling nominal missing attributes

savsav Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
edited August 2019 in Help
Hi fellas,

I'm a total noob in RapidMiner, I've just installed it on Mac.
My problem is sort of interesting for me. I'd appreciate any help. Here is my process:

In my process when I apply a "replace missing values" operation on a data set and run the process, only the numeric missing values are replaced by their Average value, nominal (binominal and polynominal) missing values are still missing and are not replaced.

However (this is where it gets strange for me) when I point on the output node of the "replace missing values" operator in the diagram (process view) I see that all missing values are replaced.

I'd really want to know if this is a bug or am I doing some ridiculous mistake.

Thanks a lot.
sav
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 270 Unicorn
    From the operator's description:

"For nominal attributes the mode is used for the average, i.e. the nominal value which occurs most often in the data. For nominal attributes and replacement type zero the first nominal value defined for this attribute is used. The replenishment "value" indicates that the user defined parameter should be used for the replacement."

They get replaced by the mode. If you don't want this, replace only the numeric variables by subsetting them.

Hope this helps,

Ernesto
  • Options
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply.