Options

MS SQL AND QUERY INPUT

rloserrloser Member Posts: 1 Contributor I
edited June 2020 in Help
I am new to Dataminer and programming.  We have a MSSQL 2008 database which I need to query.
Is there some way to create an input interface which would allow me change the data-time variable which is the only thing
that changes in the query?  We use a "start-time" and "stop-time" variable.

That is:  WHERE start-time  > '2011-11-01 03:00:00' and start-time < '2011-11-01 04:45:00'

I would like to have two variables StartTime1  and StartTime2 such that I could use that as a variable instead of the having to
input the times.  We have anywhere from two to nine areas where the time is referenced.  Having a variable instead of needing to
change each entry would greatly speed up the process as I need to run queries on over six months worth of data with various start-stop times and durations.

Thanks in advance.
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    Hi, the process below shows an example on how to use so called Macros in RapidMiner in combination with Read Database.

Set Macro defines a macro, i.e. a variable, called birthdate with a certain value. To use the macro later on, just enter the macro name into any parameter field of any operator like this: %{birthdate}.

Read Database executes a query:
    SELECT *
    FROM `dimlead` WHERE birthdate < ?
    Please not the questionmark: it indicates, that this statement is a prepared statement. That means, that any questionmarks will be replaced by the operator during execution with certain values. The values can be specified if you enable the "prepare statement" parameter and then add an entry to the "parameters". There you specify VARCHAR as type and as value "%{birthdate}".

When you execute this operator, two things will happen:
    1. %{birthdate} is replaced by '1954-01-01'
    2. The questionmark in the SQL statement is replaced by '1954-01-01'