Options

Multivariate time series simulation in RapidMiner?

vpmailvpmail Member Posts: 6 Contributor II
edited November 2019 in Help
I'm actually "Getting started" with RapidMiner (RM). I'm an R expert but totally newbie to RM. The problem involved is analysing and forecasting the dispersion of multivariate timeseries (in finance). The R codes we have are very difficult for economists. I found RM as a real alternative because of its visual "self-documenting" and simplcity in ETL tasks. To be honest, I fitted some models to my data as an experiment , it was also very expressive. What are the experiences of others? Is it possible to SIMULATE a Series model in RM (or in other visual and simple tool)? The Looping operators were not enaugh to do this because (for example in a VAR1 setup) this kind of model simulation requires peturbating the error terms with some noise that affects the following predictions. To be extreme it would be neccesary to modify the VAR1 parameters (to modfy the base cases, e.g. the point prediction's trajectory). It’s possible in R, but not too intiutive, so It would be great implement a this kind of model in RM.

(The problem in short: /multivariate historical data/ -> /few factors/ -> /multivariate timeseries model fitted to these factors with indogeneous and exogeneous variables and lags/ -> /simulated factors/ -> /simulated data/ -> /transform and visualize dispersion of data/)

I know that RM is not well suited for this task by design, it is designed for others. Any case: I'm sure that we could use it much more than an (on site) ETL tool.

Thanks, regards
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    Hi,

to be honest, I did not completely understand what you want to do. What do you mean by "simulating a model"? Can you please be a bit more specific?

Best,
    Marius
  • Options
    Hi Marius,
    sorry if I wasn't precise enough.