Creating a new clustering algorithm with java and rapidminer

imfaithimfaith Member Posts: 14 Contributor II
edited November 2019 in Help
Hi, I'm new to RapidMiner. I have a project that consists in modeling a new clustering algorithm using the Java programming language. For example, my model starts by applying K-means in the first time and then add other techniques. In this case, I don't know what I should do. I researched on the net and I don't understand: do I  must  integrate RapidMiner in my java code then use the algorithms implemented in rapidminer even be able to see the representation as in RapidMiner (in my case clustering the data) to compare my algorithm with existing algorithms, or I must to model this new model in RapidMiner then add it to my java application.
I have integrated RapidMiner in Eclipse like is described in : http://rapid-i.com/content/view/25/48/lang,en/.
I didn't understand the utility of this, can I use for example the K-means algorithm from rapidMiner and recuperate the results in my java code ?
Things are mixed in my head. Can you help me to know how to start.
best regards.

Answers

• MarcMarc Member Posts: 11 Contributor II
    Hello,
    If I could reply I would say that I had the same problem when I started. Fortunatelly, whole rapidminer is written in java, so you can integrate it to your application by using its source code. The easiest way is to create the process in rapidminer, run it in your application and let the results print to the console. Everything you do in rapidminer GUI you can do in eclipse.
    http://rapid-i.com/wiki/index.php?title=Integrating_RapidMiner_into_your_application this page may help with basics understanding.
    Did it help you a bit?
  • imfaithimfaith Member Posts: 14 Contributor II
    Hi,