Options

"SVM Models - Target Variable with more than two levels"

HamsterDRHamsterDR Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited June 2019 in Help
I have a data mining problem in which there are four levels in the target variable.  I have used a SVM model in Statistica that works very well for my data - and supports the four level target variable.  I am just starting out with Rapid Miner, and it looks like all the SVM models in Rapid Miner only support binary target variables.  Is that the case?  I think the libSVM implementation supports more than two levels (that is what Statistica uses) - but the description of this SVM implementation in Rapid Miner still seems to say that it only supports binary target variables.  If this capability is not available now, is it planned for the future?

David
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    awchisholmawchisholm RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 458 Unicorn
    Hello

It works fine with labels that have multiple nominal values.

Here's an example using the Iris data set

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="5.3.007">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.3.007" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true">
          <operator activated="true" class="retrieve" compatibility="5.3.007" expanded="true" height="60" name="Retrieve Iris" width="90" x="112" y="75">
            <parameter key="repository_entry" value="//Samples/data/Iris"/>
          </operator>
          <operator activated="true" class="x_validation" compatibility="5.3.007" expanded="true" height="112" name="Validation" width="90" x="313" y="75">
              <operator activated="true" class="support_vector_machine_libsvm" compatibility="5.3.007" expanded="true" height="76" name="SVM" width="90" x="179" y="30">
                <list key="class_weights"/>
              </operator>