RapidMiner 9.8 Beta is now available

Be one of the first to get your hands on the new features. More details and downloads here:

GET RAPIDMINER 9.8 BETA

"not able to run gui in mac[SOLVED]"

studhadoopstudhadoop Member Posts: 15 Contributor II
edited June 2019 in Help
I am able to install rapidminer in windows.
But i am not able to install in mac.
scripts/rapidminer works fine.but scripts/rapidminerGUI not starting

saying  not able to create directory under /users/stud/.RapidMiner5
Tagged:

Answers

  • Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Team Lead Software Engineering Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,944   RM Engineering
    Hi,

    do you have write access permissions for your user home  "/Users/stud" folder?

    Regards,
    Marco
  • studhadoopstudhadoop Member Posts: 15 Contributor II
    I am not able to do anything in my /Users/stud

    I tried to create a .RapidMiner5 directory in /Users/stud but permission denied ???
  • Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Team Lead Software Engineering Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,944   RM Engineering
    Hi,

    you really should be allowed to write into your own user home folder. RapidMiner needs to setup the .RapidMiner5 folder to store various things. You can have a look at this thread where someone with a Mac has a similiar problem.

    Regards,
    Marco
  • studhadoopstudhadoop Member Posts: 15 Contributor II
    i tried the commands in that post but still
    mkdir: /Users/stud/.RapidMiner5: Operation not permitted
  • Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Team Lead Software Engineering Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,944   RM Engineering
    Hi,

    well that's a Mac problem then, not a RapidMiner problem ;)
    You need to be able to write into your own user home folder, then you can launch RapidMiner.

    Regards,
    Marco
  • MacPhotoBikerMacPhotoBiker Member Posts: 60 Contributor II
    Hi studhadoop,

    you don't really need to "install" rapidminer on you Mac, I'd suggest you try the following:

    1) Download the version for "other systems" from here: http://rapid-i.com/content/view/169/82/
    2) Unzip and put the folder "rapidminer" in a folder where you do have write access, probably your desktop should be a good place to start with.
    3) go to the subfolder "lib", then double click on "rapidminer.jar"

    Rapidminer should now open. You may also want to create a shortcut to rapidminer.jar, and put it directly onto your desktop.

    I hope that helps.
  • studhadoopstudhadoop Member Posts: 15 Contributor II
    hi MacPhotoBiker
                              Actually i am trying in my desktop folder.

    At first i tried with lib->rapidminer.jar but it hangs out in"Loading GUI"
    it doesnt worked then i tried  java -jar lib/rapidminer.jar That also didn't worked fine
    then i did  scripts/rapidminer this actually worked then i tried to start GUI using scripts/RapidMinerGUI. It results in error saying /User/stud/.RapidMiner5 is not created.
    so i tried to create a folder in  /Users/stud
    mkdir: /Users/stud/.RapidMiner5: Operation not permitted
    ??? :(
  • MacPhotoBikerMacPhotoBiker Member Posts: 60 Contributor II
    Sorry to hear about your problems. It's not that I'm that much of a "pro", but I got it running on both a Mac and a Linux machine,  and since so far you didn't get any better advice, I'd like to try to help you and share my experiences with you.

    "Operation not permitted" sounds very much like improper read/write access.

    In Finder, right click on the rapidminer folder, and choose "Get info". Then a new window opens, at the very bottom it shows "Sharing & Permissions". In column "Name" your username should appear, and your privilege should be "Read & Write".

    On my end, I did not need to create any folders manually. I can open the entire application just by double clicking /lib/rapidminer.jar  I'm pointing this out because I believe that the error message "folder not created" won't be solved by just creating the folders manually, they rather indicate that "something else" goes wrong.

    Please let me know your read/write access on the rapidminer folder. Good luck!
  • MacPhotoBikerMacPhotoBiker Member Posts: 60 Contributor II
    On more thing: Besides the read/ write access you also may need to set the proper ownership of the rapidminer folder. Try this:

    In a Terminal window, go to the directory that contains the rapidminer folder, i. e when you type ls, you should see the rapidminer folder (among other folders and files).

    To modify ownership:  chown -R YourUserName:YourUserName rapidminer
    To set write access"      chmod -R 755 rapidminer

    Let us know if this works. Also, you should verify that java is properly installed.

    Good luck.
  • studhadoopstudhadoop Member Posts: 15 Contributor II
    hi MacPhotoBiker,

    I gone through ur post and did what ever u advised

    rapidminer folder
    total 0
    drwxr-xr-x  18 stud  staff  612 May  7 11:19 rapidminer



    In "Sharing & Permissions". In column "Name" it is stud, and  privilege is "Read & Write".
    And i did chmod -R 755 rapidminer

    [tt]Stud-2:rapidminer stud$ scripts/rapidminer
    No maximum Java memory defined, using 1024 Mb...
    Java version: 16
    grep: /proc/cpuinfo: No such file or directory
    Number of cores: 4
    Number of GC Threads: 3
    Starting RapidMiner from '/Users/stud/desktop/hadoop/Rapid-I/rapidminer', using classes from '/Users/stud/desktop/hadoop/Rapid-I/rapidminer/lib/rapidminer.jar'...
    Java version: 16
    Starting with CMS garbage collector
    Starting in multi-core mode
    RapidMiner version 5.3.008, Copyright (C) 2001-2012
    RapidMiner comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; This is free software,
    and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions;
    see license information in the file named LICENSE.
    Usage: com.rapidminer.RapidMinerCommandLine [-f] PROCESS [-Mname=value]
      PROCESS      a repository location containing a process
      -f            interpret PROCESS as a file rather than a repository location (deprecated)
      -Mname=value  sets the macro 'name' with the value 'value


    Stud-2:rapidminer stud$ scripts/rapidminerGUI
    grep: /proc/cpuinfo: No such file or directory
    Number of cores: 4
    Number of GC Threads: 3
    No maximum Java memory defined, using 1024 Mb...
    Starting RapidMiner from '/Users/stud/desktop/hadoop/Rapid-I/rapidminer', using classes from '/Users/stud/desktop/hadoop/Rapid-I/rapidminer/lib/rapidminer.jar'...
    Java version: 16
    Starting with CMS garbage collector
    Starting in multi-core mode
    May 18, 2013 9:44:11 AM com.rapid_i.Launcher ensureRapidMinerHomeSet
    INFO: rapidminer.home is '/Users/stud/desktop/hadoop/Rapid-I/rapidminer'.
    May 18, 2013 9:44:11 AM com.rapid_i.Launcher main
    INFO: Launching RapidMiner, platform ANY
    May 18, 2013 9:44:11 AM com.rapidminer.tools.FileSystemService getUserRapidMinerDir
    WARNING: Unable to create user home rapidminer directory /Users/stud/.RapidMiner5
    May 18, 2013 9:44:11 AM com.rapidminer.tools.ParameterService init
    INFO: Reading configuration resource com/rapidminer/resources/rapidminerrc.
    [/tt]
    ???
  • studhadoopstudhadoop Member Posts: 15 Contributor II
    Thanks it works

    I did it in root :)
Sign In or Register to comment.