Business use of Community Edition

MBA_Data_MinerMBA_Data_Miner Member Posts: 21 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,

I am a relatively new Rapidminer user. I was wondering if the 5.3 Community Edition is usable by a business for internal business purposes? (the results of analysis would not be used outside of the business). My understanding is that RM 5.3 community is licensed under AGPL v.3, but the part about integration confuses me. I am an analyst for a higher education institution. We would like to use RM community to build some models built on spreadsheet data.

To clarify RM would be used on spreadsheets, text files, and access databases without being integrated directly with any enterprise systems.

I have looked through past blog posts to try and find a clear answer.

Can anyone from RM provide me with guidance?

Also do Higher Education analysts quality for the RM 6 Academic program? ( for institutional research, not published academic research)

Please advise and many thanks,

J.

Answers

• MBA_Data_MinerMBA_Data_Miner Member Posts: 21 Contributor II
    If anyone from RM can clarify, I would greatly appreciate it. The closest answer to my question below I can find is a post from Sebastian Land in  February 2012. It seems to be ok but I want to be sure. My organization is new to predictive modeling/data mining, so I am one of the only people researching/promoting it out of several thousand employees. I have no software budget. RM community edition would be a great solution for us until more funding is approved. Anyone from RM is also welcome to contact me through my registration e-mail account as well.

Best Regards,

J.

MBA_Data_Miner wrote:

Hi,