Topic extraction on Rapidminer

BadBoy20BadBoy20 Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello everyone. I am new to rapidminer.

I've been doing the googling but I haven't found a way to do this yet. Is there a way for rapidminer to detect the topic of a bunch of documents and extract it? Could there be a way to extract the similarity of each document and match how well it matches with a specific keyword. And if there is, could someone write that or link me to such a topic? thanks

Answers

• DocMusherDocMusher Member Posts: 333 Unicorn
    Hi,
    Although I am no expert in text mining, your question can be solved by following the normal pattern as proposed for instance http://vancouverdata.blogspot.be/2010/11/text-analytics-with-rapidminer-loading.html. The topic of a document is related to the tags if available or to the key words you quantified by text mining.
    Cheers
    Sven
  • BadBoy20BadBoy20 Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
    Is there a way to find how closely a document is to a certain topic? so lets say I have a document about shang-hai and it mentions china a few times. i want to see if said document relates to china and how closely they relate?
  • MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist
    Hi,

there are most likely solutions for you inside rapidminer. I would say there are basicly three ways to go:

- Supervised learning

If you have documents with a Tag (e.g. China) you can go for supervised learning and built a model on each tag which detects the different topics. If you have tagged data, i would go this way. The tutorial above should help you with this

- Clustering