Best Practices for Term Reduction

mdcmdc Member Posts: 58 Maven
Hi,

I'm new to Text Mining and I'm trying to cluster technical documents or papers using RM. I've tried a lot of things already but couldn't get a good quality clusters. Now, I'm starting to realize that to get good clustering results, I need to provide clean list of terms (attributes). So far these are what I've tried:
1. Limit the terms to a list of Domain keywords - Ideally, I think this is the best but harder to generate. It requires a lot of manual work to have a list of domain keywords.
2. Stop Word Lists (english and domain specific)
3. Use small part of document for indexing
    - Title only - this results to fewer terms but I don't know if it affects the quality of clustering
    - Abstract only - I find it to generate lots of noisy terms
4. Use N-Gram - ok but it multiplies the number of terms
5. Stemmer (on/off)
6. InteractiveAttributeWeighing operator - I think this is ok but requires manual work --considering I always get thousand of attributes.

Is there anything else I'm missing that is available in RM? I've heard of this POS tagger or sentence analysis (?) but is not available in the Word Vector Plugin. Is this something I should be considering?

I know there are experts here in text mining technical papers ---could you please give me some guidance or ideas.  :-\

thanks,

Answers

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hi,

there is unfortunately no recipe which always led to the best results but at least I try to give you some comments on your ideas and extend them by some additional comments where applicable:

1. Limit the terms to a list of Domain keywords - Ideally, I think this is the best but harder to generate. It requires a lot of manual work to have a list of domain keywords.