Options

Best approach to use for some data analysis??

neildugganneilduggan Member Posts: 18 Contributor II
Hi

First post on here – I’m looking for some direction on what analysis method to use for my thesis. I hope this post isn’t too long-winded and / or in the wrong location!!

I'm pretty new to RapidMiner and data analytics in general but I wanted to check if the approach I'm considering seems suitable based on the data types I have or is there something different which would be worth exploring before I start going too deep into it?

My thesis is essentially an analysis of a dairy farm model (grass growth & grass consumption) which outputs whether the farm has a deficit / balanced supply / surplus of grass & silage production during the year.

I am trying to assess whether it is possible to predict early in the year what the outcome will be for the entire year and if so, whether it will be possible to mitigate against a deficit or surplus.

I plan to categorically label my data set as below such that each data point will have the following associated with it:

- Month name: 1-12
- Month status: Deficit / Balanced / Surplus
- Year status: Deficit / Balanced / Surplus
- Rainfall associated with the Nitrogen application date in each month - 5 labels from Wet to Dry
- Temperature associated with the Nitrogen application date in each month - 5 labels from Wet to Dry

From this, I want to assess:

1. Whether there are Rainfall & Temperature combinations in the early months which can reliably predict a deficit / surplus later in the year? Does association rule mining sound like it would be suitable for this??

I was planning to set Year status as the label and combining the attributes for Month/Temp/Rainfall into a single attribute (or should these be left as individual attributes?) and see if I can come up with association rules for these? Or would something like decision tree or Apriori be better?