Options

How to perform Time Series Prediction using Support Vector Machine for univariable.

mallsunita13mallsunita13 Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

Hi,

I am new to RapidMiner. I am working on a project in which I am using Support Vector Machine operator to perform Time Series Prediction for univariable. I have a dataset which consists the information of nine non-consecutive weeks from February 2014 to October 2014. The name of the variable is "Total bytes" which is the size of emails. I am using Cross-Validation operator in which eight weeks data is training and ninth weeks data is testing.  

Can anyone please help me to solve this problem.

Thank you

Sunita 

Answers

• Options
    Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn

Hi Sunita and welcome!

Your qustion is a bit unclear--are you trying to use the prior week's value for total bytes to predict the last week's value?  If so, then you can use the Time Series operators (available in the free extension), in particular the "predict series" operator, although you many need to do a little bit of ETL to get your data into the correct format.

If you are trying to predict "total bytes" as a function of other attributes, then you can use any of the other approaches in predictive modeling, as long as you are using attribute values from before the point in time that you are trying to predict.

Recall that in either case you should set the role of "total bytes" to "label" using the "set role" operator so RapidMiner knows that is the attribute that you are trying to predict.

Brian T.
    Lindon Ventures 
    Data Science Consulting from Certified RapidMiner Experts
  • Options

Hello,