Memory issue

PatrickHouPatrickHou Member Posts: 6 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

HI, I'm new to RM and now I'm facing a memory issue with it.

On window 10 64-bit my rapidminer uses 3GB of memory without running any process and after a process(basically as the tutorial did) it can't clean up the memory even I used "free memory" operator.

Thanks 

Patrick

Best Answer

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager
    Solution Accepted

hello @PatrickHou - welcome to the community. Yes that sounds about right. My RapidMiner Studio install typically uses around 3GB of memory at rest as well.

We don't recommend using RapidMiner with a machine less than 4GB, and even 8GB can be quite limiting. It's a pretty sophisticated piece of software that does its work in RAM. See this page for machine specifications. Most data scientists who use RapidMiner have machines with quite a bit of RAM. Mine is 64GB. :)

Scott

Answers

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

"Mine is 64GB"

Showoff! :)

• PatrickHouPatrickHou Member Posts: 6 Contributor I

Thanks for the explanation, luckily I have 16 GB for my project. But another problem still stands here that my process can't free memory. Is my process still run backgroud after process? 

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

I'm no memory expert but that may be due to the garbage collection aspect of the Java VM. I think it should clear up in a bit or definately when you run the next process. 

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder

Hi,