Starting a RapidMiner Server via AWS

felix_wfelix_w Member Posts: 61 Contributor II
edited November 2019 in Help

Dear Rapidminer Community, 

first of all, I am a total noob when it comes to handling servers, sorry ;) There will maybe be some dumb questions in the next paragraphs. ;-) What I would like to do is to set up a Rapidminer Server via AWS and I have a few questions because I am already a little bit confused which steps I have to do to get this server running. (Yes, I have a Rapidminer Server license)

I will use the RapidminerServer for collaborative working with 4-6 people, how many GB RAM do I need, how many cores, how many GB space approximately? Is this offer succifient? 16GB RAM, 4 cores https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B0742FWHKH . We don't have huge amounts of data atm and will also use our own laptops for calculations etc, the server functions mainly as a place to share processes and some data. That is why an offer, which only makes us pay if we actually use the server would be nice. 

I have watched the two videos provided by Rapidminer how to set up Rapidminer Server and just to make sure I would like to summarize the steps here, more or less a to-do list for me: 

1. I have to install Java 8
  2. I have to set up a database, which one would you recommend? MySQL?
    1. I have to install this database on my local machine right?
  3. I would like to use the suggested offer from Rapidminer on AWS (https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B0742FWHKH)
  4. Install RapidminerServer software on my laptop
  5. Connect my RapidMiner Studio with my AWS Rapidminer Server through a new repository 

Is this overall correct? 

I would use these sources as references for my installation: 

https://rapidminer.com/blog/installing-rapidminer-server-aws/

https://rapidminer.com/blog/installing-rapidminer-server-aws-part-2/

https://rapidminer.com/training/videos/

Further questions: