Return back the setting to keep disabled operators connected
In older versions of RapidMiner Studio (e.g. in the 7.x line), there was a setting: User Interface > Process editor > Disconnect operators when disabled. But this setting was removed in 8.x line (it was changed to "Bridge connection if operator is removed", which does not allow me to retain the connections).
It simply takes some mental effort to correctly recreate the disappeared connections. Do not make me think.