Options

"Sequence and error analysis"

JCJC Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi,

I am new to data mining and I am wondering if someone can point me in the right direction. I apologize for the long explanation, I just want to make sure that I am clear.

I am using RapidMiner to analyze what users did while using an educational program. I had 90 users, each user completed 20 exercises. The system created a log of the time of every click, also classifying each action as a command, help item, resource or error, for each exercise. Since every user clicks on different items, the number of records (rows) is not the same for each user, it ranges between 170 and 600. I do however have the same number of attributes for all of them.  I know it is similar to web usage, but in this case I don't have only pages. I want to compare the sequences of actions between users, how they used the available resources, and the errors they made (basically I am comparing the click sequences). I want to make this comparison for the entire session, but I would also like to compare each exercise individually accross users. Is there a technique or set of techniques that can help me in this analysis?

If I cannot achieve this with RapidMiner but you know another technique or software in any domain that could be used, I would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks for your help!
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi,