Options

Classifying? / Labelling? Time series examples

AndryehAndryeh Member Posts: 8 Learner I
Hi. I'm new to this but I think I can muddle my way through most of it. The one thing I'm struggling with is that I have a collection of time series examples that I basically want to organise into two groups, True and False, so that I can use the Deep Learning extension on them. What's the best way of applying a label for the DL operator to predict? Is there anyway I can just sort them into two seperate groups? "Tag" the examplesets? Do I just add an extra row at the bottom with True or False in them and get the operator to predict that?

Thanks.

Answers

• Options
    BalazsBaranyBalazsBarany Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert Posts: 955 Unicorn
    Hi!

For classification the data have to be in table format, with one row representing one example and having a label as an attribute.

This means that you'll need to transform your time series into this format. For example you would extract minima, maxima, percentiles by time range (if they aren't for the same time span) and so on. Transpose and Pivot are operators you'll probably need.

Regards,
    Balázs
  • Options
    Thanks, I can do that but I'm not sure how that affects the Deep Learning operator. Does the Deep Learning operator look at the data any differently when it's in a time series layout than it would an example in a single row? It's all the same data just in a different layout. Does DL care?
  • Options
    BalazsBaranyBalazsBarany Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert Posts: 955 Unicorn
    Hi!

In RapidMiner you always set up a table with rows as the examples and a label attribute for classification and regression.