Connecting with SQL Server Express 2005

jakesjakes Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited July 2019 in Help
Hi,

I am new to Rapid Miner.

I have just installed the new version of RM (5.0) and I am trying to connect to a SQL server (Express) database on the same home machine. For some reason it always gives me an error.

Even though i did download the driver(http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=C47053EB-3B64-4794-950D-81E1EC91C1BA&displaylang=en) and copied both the .jar files into the /lib folder, when i look under Tools -> Database Drivers, the SQL Server (Microsoft) driver is not enabled.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance.

Jake
Tagged:

Answers

• landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi Jake,
    please copy the driver into the /lib/jdbc directory. This is the only path searched automatically. Please tell me, if this does not work either.

Greetings,
      Sebastian
  • jakesjakes Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
    Hi Sebastian,

Many thanks for your reply.

I did copy the sqljdbc.jar file into the /lib/jdbc and still it doesn't work.

I would really appreciate if you could help.

Regards,

Jake
  • haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849 Maven
    Hi there,

You may not need to go though this pain - I can connect to SQL Express dbases using the JTDS driver that comes ready installed with RM5. If that fails enclose the error messages from the log in your next post.

• jakesjakes Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
    Hi haddock,

Many thanks for your reply.

I am using the wizard available with RM5 and it still gives me an error using the JTDS driver.

The specific error I am getting is " Please check your connection settings and revalidate the connection URL: 'jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost:1433/dbschemaname'.

Would be great if you could help!

Cheers,

Jake
  • landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi Jake,