Options

calculating statistics

TheBearTheBear Member Posts: 18 Maven
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello
I am new to rapidminer. So far I am not quite sure if I have understand the concept
or the syntax corrctly.

My data set consists of some instances (I call it instances what is organised in lines in my spreadsheet)
and several attributes (columns). What I need to do is to condense the data,
e.g. calculating mean and deviation for attribute 3-7 (for each instance).
(For instance: Lets say I have a set of process parameters X describing my process and
I measure some output characteristics several times O1, O2 ,O3, O4 .
Now I want to investigate O further which is characterised by the mean O1-O4.)

I found the FeatureGeneration Operator which might be used for that purpose but the syntax is
not really easy to use (e.g. no function for mean or deviation).

Is there any other operator or operator chain which are better suited to receive statistics within instances?

Answers

• Options
    steffensteffen Member Posts: 347 Maven
    Hello and welcome to RapidMiner

I suggest to use the operator "Aggregation".
    Example: Calculating average of attribute "a" of the iris data set (available with RapidMiner), grouped by each value of the classlabel.
    <operator name="Root" class="Process" expanded="yes">
        <operator name="ExampleSource" class="ExampleSource">
            <parameter key="attributes" value="iris.aml"/>
        </operator>
        <operator name="Aggregation" class="Aggregation">
            <parameter key="aggregation_attribute" value="a1"/>
            <parameter key="group_by_attribute" value="label"/>
            <parameter key="keep_example_set" value="false"/>
        </operator>
    </operator>
    In combination with operator "ParameterIteration" (use the cvs-version please) and the "ExampleSetJoinOperater" you can calculate the average for all attributes of a data set.

hope this was helpful

Steffen