Options

Question on large number of attributes

jngaijngai Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
I am new to RM

I would like to initiate a project to produce a neural network.

Training data each instance has 10 parameters, each parameter have value from a pool of  500  non-English phrases.  There would be thousands of instances with each instance on a line in Excel.

My first thinking is to change these into 500 variables with true/false to show existence of each phrase.

I am not sure this is the correct  way of thinking, and I am wondering RM can handle this vast amount of parameters.  And does RM support non-English text?  I believe it is in Unicode (I am not very familiar with this also).

Appreciate anyone can point me the direction, or answer my concerns.

Thanks in advance

Answers

• Options
    SebastianLohSebastianLoh Member Posts: 99 Contributor II

> I would like to initiate a project to produce a neural network.
    Are you sure a neural network is the method you need? For text mining maybe a Naive Bayes or SVM performs better.
    > Training data each instance has 10 parameters, each parameter have value from a pool of  500  non-English phrases.  There would be thousands of instances with each instance on a line in Excel.

My first thinking is to change these into 500 variables with true/false to show existence of each phrase.
    This sound like a good idea. This process shows you how to do that:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="5.0">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true" height="505" width="949">
          <operator activated="true" class="generate_data" expanded="true" height="60" name="Generate Data" width="90" x="45" y="30">
            <parameter key="number_examples" value="1000"/>
          </operator>