RapidMiner in Amazon EC2

earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 270 Unicorn
edited August 2019 in Help
I've recently been running R programs in Amazon EC2. It is just fantastic. I love this model in which all you need is a terminal.

I saw here a question about RApidMiner & EC2 a while ago. Has anybody experimented since with using both?

(I'm new to the whole cloud thing, but it would be nice if somebody made available an AMI capable of running RapidMiner.)

Regards,

\E.
Tagged:

Answers

• landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi,
    I heard from someone who already did this. In fact it was a talk on the last OSBI...
    If you find or create such an AMI, please inform us! Would be quite useful for everybody here.

Greetings,
      Sebastian
  • earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 270 Unicorn
    I will Sebastian. I've been playing with it for the last few days. At the beginning at a very slow pace because I'm a Windows creature and I was using Ubuntu (which is new territory for me). Last night I was able to put together a Windows machine (Windows 2008) and now things went smoothly.

Here's a quick sketch of what I did (I don't include steps involving getting an account with Amazon, getting the credentials, etc) :

1) Launch a Windows 2008 Server image (for instance, Basic 64-bit Microsoft Windows Server 2008 (AMI Id: ami-d9e40db0) ). Make sure that you open the RDP port (3389) because that's how you are going to communicate with the Virtual Machine.

2) Install Java (www.java.com/downloads)

3) Install RapidMiner