"PCA as with SPSS"

ronron Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi there,

I am completely new to RapidMiner and quite new to statistics in general. Up to now I only worked a little bit with SPSS.
Now in RapidMiner I wanted to repeat the things I've already done with SPSS, e.g. a Principal Component Analysis.
But I have no idea, which operators and parameters are necessary to create the kind of output I am used to when working with SPSS:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

There I've had a number of variables (Exx and Oxx) and set a fixed number (2) of components. The SPSS output is a table showing the factor loadings for all of my original variables.
After then I usually would evaluate the loadings, group the variables according to their factor loadings and drop variables with too low values.

It seems that RapidMiner's PCA operator is doing something similar but I have no clue, which variables the PC's are generated from or how the PCs are computed.

I hope my explanation isn't too confusing. Maybe RapidMiner simply doesn't offer PCA this way.
Is there anybody out there who can help me?

Best regards,
ron

Answers

• landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi Ron,

RapidMiner focuses on automatic data processing and hence there's no optimized user interface for applying just a single pca and then taking a look at the results to manually decide which attributes/variables to keep.

But of course it's still possible. Let's go through this step by step. In the following process I added an Generate Data operator to simply generate some data where we can apply the PCA on. Then I added a Principal Component Analysis operator. The output object is the data that is compressed on the two resulting components and the model itself. The model contains the principal components with the factors as shown in SPSS. To see the results, you need to execute the process.