Poor data scrolling, GUI issues !

ZiggiZiggi Member Posts: 8 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,

I am relatively new to RabidMiner nevertheless I have successfully installed rapidminer-5.1.006x64.exe on my Windows 7 x64 (8 GB RAM) and found terrible scrolling performance even with small results as less than 1000 rows in data view. Interesting - dragging scroll view sliders is much more efficient while actually clicking the slider with a mouse and drag the cursor out of the RapidMiner window while keeping the mouse button constantly clicked!

Anyway - I do not cope while scrolling result view of a simple table having ~800 rows and ~10 columns with plain numeric data is consuming more than 1GB of memory by the javaw.exe process??? Please notice - this memory is never released even in case a completely new experiment is opened and performed. In my humble opinion there is some issue with memory management as I was easily able to clog the system previewing a few table of the similar size as previously mentioned what resulted in GUI issues like annoying interactivity lagging, turning toolbar buttons into white "blanks", etc.

Answers

• Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

this sounds like some problem with java.. I'm also using RapidMiner on a Win7 x64 machine, and there are no such problems whatsoever.
    However, a quick google search revealed that quite a few people are having memory problems with different java programs and Win 7 x64.
    Are you using the latest java version (version 6 update 26)? Are you using the 32 or 64 bit java version?

Regards,
    Marco
  • IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hi,