unparsable time

roya67roya67 Member Posts: 10 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
hi every body.
I am new in rapidminer, and I have problem loading my data to rapidminer by ReadExcell, I will appreciate if anyone help me.
I have a colomn named time. and it has data that are in time format : for example : 01:00:46.644337
rapidminer uses polynomial type for that automaticaly, I changed it to time but I got the error unparsable time. :
what can I do to solve this problem.

thanks alot.

Answers

• chrismxnrchrismxnr Member Posts: 12 Contributor II
    Hi,
    I also have some problems with the time handling in RapidMiner, especially when I extracted it with a macro and then writing it back as date. So I can maybe give you an idea for an workaround:

My approach would be this: You should be able to read the date as nominal value. Then with the "Generate Attributes"-operator you can generate a new attribute using the function "date_parse_custom", which uses your nominal date and an additional Pattern String as Input according to your format (I think it should be "HH:mm:ss.ffffff"). As result the new attribute should contain your value as date/time.

Best regards,
    Chris
  • roya67roya67 Member Posts: 10 Contributor II
    thanks alot :)
    I'm going to try this.
    dear chris
    I have problem using the method you mentioned.
    I use date_parse_custom(time,"HH:mm:ss.ffffff") under the function operation but get a strange error. am I wrong?

then I tried this method like this :(time,"HH:mm:ss")  and had to remove that part. this way I didn't get error but it shows date in the colomn. what can I do to see only time.
    although I used DATE_SHOW_TIME_ONLY  constant as the third argument it did not change
    date_parse_custom(time,"HH:mm:ss","DATE_SHOW_TIME_ONLY ")
    thank you very much
    Hi,
    if you enter a string you have to put it into quatation marks, so please try date_parse_custom(time,"HH:mm:ss.ffffff").

I hope this will solve your problem :)