Options

Help on How to Use FP-Growth

JieDuJieDu Member Posts: 6 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,

Can someone help me on how to use the FP-Growth operator? I am new to Rapidminder and try to use it to do some data mining work.

Here is the toy problem I used:

Transaction Beef Boots Cheese Chicken Clothes Milk
1 TRUE FALSE FALSE TRUE FALSE TRUE
2 TRUE FALSE TRUE FALSE FALSE FALSE
3 FALSE TRUE TRUE FALSE FALSE FALSE
4 TRUE FALSE TRUE TRUE FALSE FALSE
5 TRUE FALSE TRUE TRUE TRUE TRUE
6 FALSE FALSE FALSE TRUE TRUE TRUE
7 FALSE FALSE FALSE TRUE TRUE TRUE

With minimum support is set at 0.3, I can easily find the frequent itemsets as the following:

Itemset                  Trans Count    Support
Beef                                4            0.57
Cheese                          4            0.57
Chicken                          5            0.71
Clothes                          3              0.43
Milk                                  4            0.57
Beef, Cheese                3            0.43
Beef, Chicken                3            0.43
Chicken, Clothes            3            0.43
Chicken, Milk                  4            0.57
Clothes, Milk                    3            0.43
Chicken, Clothes, Milk    3            0.43

However, FP-Growth outputs:

Size    Support    Item1    Item2
1      0.571      Cheese
1      0.429      Milk
1      0.429      Clothes
1      0.429      Beef
2      0.429      Cheese  Milk

Both the support value and the itemsets are different from hand calculation.

I only used two operators: one for retrieve the data from repository (I checked the data output.
The data looks good) and FP-Growth with "Find min number of itersets" un-checked and the "min support" set to 0.3.

Maybe there are some parameters I should set up? Really appreciate your help!

Jie

Answers

• Options
    haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849 Maven
    Hi there Jie,