"Dealing with nulls in FP Growth"

MattTC13MattTC13 Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited June 2019 in Help
Hello everyone,

I am very new to using rapid miner, and have a question about the process in which variables with many levels are translated into binomial variables through FP Growth.

For example,  in a survey's data I am trying to analyze, one of our variables is age groups.  They go 0-13, 13-18, 19-24, 25-29, etc.  I understand that it will create a variable for all of these groups (except one) and assign 1's and 0's for whether it falls into the group or not.

My problem is when a participant did not answer the age question.  How does Rapid Miner handle these observations?  Will it assign a zero in each of the categories, or eliminate it completely?  I believe it would mess up the results if the former and thus would prefer that people who did not answer the age question not be considered when trying to discover rules involving age.

Is this how Rapid Miner already works, and if not, is there some way to set the process up to do this?

Thank you in advance.

Matt
Tagged:

Answers

• haddockhaddock Member Posts: 849 Maven
    Greetings Matt,

Interesting question, in RM speak this is about 'missing values', you have two choices..

1. Filter the examples, so that those with missing values are removed.
    2. Transform the data, by 'data cleansing', where you fill in the blanks.

It's a difficult call, more or clean only, so I tend to do both, to see the difference.

Wish I could be more helpful! Good weekend.
  • MattTC13MattTC13 Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
    Hello Haddock,

Thank you for your response!  My question is more regarding how FPGrowth handles missing values.  My dataset is a survey with approximately 200 attributes.  Every observation has at least one attribute missing, therefore elimination is not an option.  I understand I can impute missing values but if FPGrowth can handle missing values this is not required.